About südwissen

The südwissen platform is part of the project Hochschulweiterbildung@BW and is supported by the Ministry for Science, Research and the Arts (MWK) within the framework of the interdepartmental qualification offensive WEITER.mit.BILDUNG@BW.

All 48 state universities in Baden-Württemberg are participating in the project and signed a cooperation agreement in spring 2021. The project is led by the University of Freiburg in cooperation with Furtwangen University.

Network Partners


südwissen is the platform of academies, colleges and universities in Baden-Württemberg. From workshops to part-time master’s degrees: Here, interested parties can find all offers of academic continuing education on a central platform.

The evalag quality seal makes the specific quality of continuing education at universities visible statewide and beyond. In addition, the 26 regional and specialist networking centers at the universities support the matching between the needs of the economy and the continuing education offers.

Academic continuing education powered by THE LÄND.

The regional networks for continuing vocational education

The regional networks for continuing vocational education are regional associations of continuing education providers in all urban and rural districts in Baden-Württemberg, which, with their more than 1,350 educational institutions, form a comprehensive network.

The regional networks provide information about local continuing education offerings, produce the free “fit through continuing education” event brochures, and advise on continuing education days.

Digital Campus for Continuous Education

The Digital Campus for Continuous Education is a central infrastructure for technically supported teaching and learning scenarios that is reliable, cross-institutional, compliant with data protection laws and legally secure, and also offers opportunities for exchanging or sharing digital content between institutions.

Advisory board

The advisory board supports the strategic project management. The advisory board members accompany the development and implementation of the project Hochschulweiterbildung@BW. The advisory board consists of 15 members:

Annika Bohn
Head of the Department of Education Policy, Vocational Training and Higher Education
German Federation of Trade Unions – Region of Baden-Württemberg

Dr. Monica Bravo Granström
Managing Director Academy of Continuing Education
University of Education Weingarten

Prof. Heike Bühler
Department of Basic Issues in Studies and Teaching, Student Orientation, Advanced Scientific Training, Accreditation
Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Württemberg

Prof. Dr. Andreas Frey
Nürtingen-Geislingen University

Acad. Dir. Jan Ihwe
Head of the Department of Educational Transfer
University of Freiburg

Dr. Alexandra Jürgens
German Association for University Continuing and Distance Education, group of Baden-Württemberg in the German Association for University Continuing and Distance Education

Romina Junk, Dipl. Wirtsch. Ing. (FH)
Managing Director Institute for Continuing Education in the Sciences
Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences.

Ariane Lang
Bildungswerk der Baden-Württembergischen Wirtschaft

Milena Müller
Scientific advisor
evalag Evaluationsagentur Baden-Württemberg

Irene Sauerbrey
Student in the MBA program Social and Healthcare Management
University of Applied Sciences Ravensburg-Weingarten

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Schumacher
Executive Director of the School of Advanced Professional Studies (SAPS)
University of Ulm

Prof. Dr. Dr. Claudia Spahn
Vice Rector for Research and International Relations
Freiburg University of Music

Prof. Dr. Michael Stürner
Vice Rector for Teaching
University of Konstanz

Matthias Toepfer
Head of the University Policy and Political Dialogue Unit
for the association „Unternehmer Baden-Württemberg e.V.“

Prof. Dr. Peter Väterlein
Vice President and Permanent Representative of the President
Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University (DHBW)

Dr. Michael Vössing
Head of University Policy Affairs
Baden-Württemberg Chamber of Industry and Commerce (BWIHK)